Tim Hicks Celebrates 10-Year Anniversary of “Throw Down” Album with Remastered Deluxe Edition and Record Store Day Vinyl Release

Tim Hicks releases "Throw Down - Remastered Deluxe" Edition

Canadian country artist Tim Hicks is celebrating the 10-year anniversary of his debut album, “Throw Down,” with a remastered deluxe edition.

The album, available on streaming platforms via Open Road Recordings, features the original album’s fan favourites as well as a never-before-heard track titled “Taking It Easy” and a new version of his hit song “Stronger Beer” called “Stronger Beer (Keg Party Mix).”

New Track “Taking It Easy” on the Album

“Taking It Easy” is a new original song included in the remastered album.

According to Hicks, “‘Taking It Easy’ was the first song that was ever pitched to me when I started hanging in Nashville. I REALLY wanted on the first album way back in 2013, but for several reasons we didn’t include it. I’m so happy it’s finally found a home on the remastered version.” 

It’s a great new … or I guess “new-to-us” … song and clear why Tim originally wanted it on the album. It fits perfectly with the rest of the songs and brings the Tim Hicks vibe we all know and love.

Listen to “Taking It Easy”

New Version of His Hit Song “Stronger Beer”

The remastered album features a new version of “Stronger Beer” called “Stronger Beer (Keg Party Mix).”

“Ever wonder why the original version of ‘Stronger Beer’ was acoustic and a little different from the rest of the album? That’s because the demo had such a vibe, we put the demo on the album,” Hicks shares on the hit track. “This time we actually cut it with a full band to create the ‘Keg Party Mix’- it’s so much fun, you’re gonna love it!”

And that’s exactly what it is …

The same song we all love, but elevated. It makes the classic sound new again.

Listen to “Stronger Beer – Keg Party Mix”

Record Store Day Vinyl Release

To celebrate Record Store Day, Hicks released a special edition yellow vinyl version of “Throw Down,” which will be available in select stores on April 22. He will also be visiting Revolution Records (Hamilton, ON), Looney Tunes (Burlington, ON), and PCV Records (Oakville, ON) to sign copies of the vinyl and perform an acoustic set.

See when he’ll be in your area on his website.

About Tim Hicks

Hicks is an award-winning, multi-platinum artist who continues to lead the way with his everyman approach to country music.

Learn More About Tim Hicks – He Joined Us On The Porch

He has released several highly praised albums, including “Throw Down,” “5:01,” “Shake These Walls,” and “Campfire Troubadour,” which have earned him a double Platinum selling single, four Platinum selling singles, nine Gold singles, one Gold album, and eighteen Top 10 radio hits (including the #1 singles “No Truck Song” and “What A Song Should Do”).

He has been nominated for five JUNO Awards and has won a CCMA Award.

Tracklist For “Throw Down (Deluxe Remastered)”

1. Hell Raisin’ Good Time
2. Get By
3. Just Add Water
4. Buzz, Buzz, Buzzing
5. Got A Feeling (feat. Blackjack Billy)
6. Long Way Jose
7. Stronger Beer
8. Sure Ain’t Tough Tonight
9. Nothing On You and Me
10. Greasy John Deere Cap
11. Can’t Get Enough
12. Cheers To You
13. Taking It Easy
14. Stronger Beer (Keg Party Mix)


A die-hard country music fan with an impressive collection of Spotify playlists. Happiest when I'm listening to music and constantly on the lookout for the next artist to fall in love with. A bit of a tech nerd too.

Related Posts

Don’t miss out! Join on Instagram