Nominees and Winners for the 2022 Country Music Alberta Awards

2022 cmab award nominations

The 2022 Country Music Alberta Awards took place this past weekend, and it was a weekend to remember! It was a great show, and so many talented Canadian country artists have been recognized for their excellent contribution to the industry.

The 11th Annual Country Music Alberta awards took place on March 20, 2022 in Red Deer, Alberta. These awards are an annual tradition that celebrates artists, producers, songwriters, and other industry professionals in Alberta.

It was a great night of Canadian country music in Canada’s country music province.

CMAB’s executive director Stephanie Bakker-Hopf explains that the association has been working hard to bring the 11th annual awards show to life this spring and hopes that country music industry and fans alike are excited to celebrate the top-tier talent Alberta offers.

Leading the charge for 2022 is Nice Horse with 3 wins, followed by Tenille Townes. The industry awards were hosted by Dan Davidson and the music awards were hosted by Canadian legends The Road Hammers.

Here’s a full list of the nominees and winners for the awards:

Full List of Nominees and Winners For the 2022 Country Music Alberta Awards in Red Deer

Horizon Female Artist of the Year

Krissy Feniak
Mariya Stokes
Tracy Millar
Michela Sheedy
Hailey Benedict – winner

Horizon Male Artist of the Year

Donny Lee
Devin Cooper
Trevor Panczak
Brandon Lorenzo
Dan Davidson 
Drew Gregory – winner

Horizon Group or Duo of the Year

The Dungarees
Dirt Road Angels
The Prairie States – winner
Nice Horse
As High As We Go
Renegade Station

Horizon Single of the Year

Free, Free, Free – Renegade Station
Got Me this Far – Donny Lee
Wanted You To – Hailey  Benedict – winner
Looking For A Lockdown With You – Various Artists
Break My Heart – Mariya Stokes
Good at Missing You – Nice Horse

Horizon Youth

Kat Krys
Martina Dawn – winner
Megan Paige

Male Artist of the Year

Brett Kissel
Gord Bamford
Jade Eagleson
Aaron Goodvin – winner

Female Artist of the Year

Tenille Townes – winner
MacKenzie  Porter
Lindsay Ell

Group of the Year

The Road Hammers – winner
High Valley

Musician of the Year

Cody Mack (Drums, Bass, Electric and Acoustic Guitar)
Tara McLeod (Guitar)
Mitch Jay (Pedal Steel Guitar, Banjo, Dobro, Mandolin, Guitar) – winner
Johnny Gasparic (Guitar, Bass, Mandolin, Banjo, Dobro, Keyboards, Lap Steel)
Brendan Waters (Keyboard, guitar)
Josh Ruzycki (Electric Guitar)

Roots Artist of the Year

Blake Reid
Kyle McKearney
Ryan Lindsay – winner
Clayton Bellamy and the Congregation
Mike Plume

Songwriter/s of the Year

“Looking For a Lockdown with You” / Written by: Joni Delaurier, Troy Kokol, Teresa Schmidt, Greg Shannon, Stella Stevens / Performed by: Scarlett Butler, Duane Steele, Aaron Goodvin, Michelle Wright, Amber Marshall – winner

“High That I’m Riding” / Written by: Mike Nash, Mat Cardinal, Dan Davidson / Performed by: The Prairie States

“Rebound” / Written by: Mariya Stokes, Aaron Pollock / Performed by: Mariya Stokes

“Roll With It” / Written by: Dan Davidson, Clayton Bellamy, Jason McCoy / Performed by: Dan Davidson & The Road Hammers

“Beer With Anyone” / Written by: Drew Gregory / Eric Dodd / Performed by: Drew Gregory

Video of the Year

“Free, Free, Free” / Artist: Renegade Station
“High School” / Artist: Nice Horse – winner
“Roll With It” / Artist: Dan Davidson (ft. The Road Hammers)
“High That I’m Riding” / Artist: The Prairie States
“Beer With Anyone” / Artist: Drew Gregory

Album of the Year

Down-Home / Kyle McKearney
Every Little Town / The Prairie States – winner
Feels Like This / Alee
Got Me This Far /Donny Lee
I’m Not 29 No More / Tracy Millar

Single of the Year

“All Night To Figure It Out” / Jade Eagleson
“Girl Who Didn’t Care” / Tenille Townes – winner
“Boy Like Me” / Aaron Goodvin
“Make A Life, Not A Living” / Brett Kissel
“Good on You” / Lindsay Ell

Fans’ Choice

Renegade Station
Hailey Benedict
Donny Lee
Brandon Lorenzo
NewLaw – winner
Chevy Beaulieu
Tracy Millar
Trevor Panczak
Stirling John
Kyle McKearney

Interactive Artist of the Year

Devin Cooper  
Hailey Benedict
Kym Simon 
Nice Horse – winner 
Dan Davidson

Community Spirit Award 

Devin Cooper
Stirling John
Nice Horse – winner

Industry Person of the Year

Dan Davidson / Producer and Promoter (Diesel Bird Fest)
Johnny Gasparic / MCC Recording Studio
Sarah Scott / Real Country 95.9FM/Studio B Podcast
Emily Holloway / The Blue Jay Sessions/Calgary Country/National Music Center
Laurie Brown / Porch Swing Entertainment – winner

Talent Buyer of the Year

Adam Oppenheim / Stampede Entertainment
Angie Morris / Sirroma Entertainment
Dan Clapson / Blue Jay Sessions – winner 
Rob Cyrynowski / Hotels Live/Livestar Entertainment
Carla Hackman / Sakamoto Agency

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)

Country 93 (Fort McMurray)
Wild 95.3 (Calgary)
Real Country 95.5 (Red Deer)
Country 95.5 (Lethbridge)
840 CFCW (Edmonton) – winner
CHAT 94 (Medicine Hat)
Big Country 93.1 (Grande Prairie)
CISN (Edmonton)
Country 105 (Calgary)
CFWE (Edmonton)
CJWE (Calgary)

Radio Station of the Year (Small/Medium Market)

Real Country 95.9 (Lloydminster)
99.7 Sun Country (High River)
New Country 98.1 (Camrose)
93.1 The One (Leduc)
96.5 CKFM (Olds) – winner

Live Venue or Presenting Series of the Year

The Track on 2 Horse Racing & Entertainment Centre‚ Lacombe
The King Eddy‚ Calgary
Hotels Live Concert Series‚ Calgary
Cook County Saloon‚ Edmonton – winner
The Blue Jay Sessions‚ Calgary

In country music, the Front Porch has long been a place of reflection. A place where you can look at the life you have inside that front door. A place where time almost seems to stand still, where you can get away. It’s also a place where you can go to observe the world as it passes by you. To think about your place out there beyond the driveway.

Related Posts

Don’t miss out! Join on Instagram