The 2023 CMAB Awards: Winners And Show Highlights

road hammers at the 2022 CMAB Awards

The 12th annual Country Music Alberta Awards (CMABs) have come and gone. The night featured great performances, good times, and a celebration of the best music in Alberta. Trophies have been handed out, and we have the full list of winners.

With over 100 Alberta musicians and industry pros recognized across 23 categories, this year’s awards show was bigger than ever. Hosts Jojo Mason and Hailey Benedict did a great job keeping the show moving along.

Rewatch The Awards Live

The awards also saw two categories with two winners. Amy Hef and Megan Dawson tied for Horizon Female Artist Of The Year. For the Male Artist Of The Year category, Aaron Goodvin and Corb Lund tied.

Nice Horse and Devin Cooper had the most nominations (six each), with Nice Horse’s guitarist Tara McLeod also nominated for Musician of the Year. Other acts with multiple nominations included Renegade Station, Brandon Lorenzo, Ryan Lindsay, Megan Dawson, and Flaysher.

Making history, Amy Hef is the first-ever queer act to be nominated and win in the Horizon Female Artist of the Year category.

RELATED: Here’s a list of some of Canada’s finest country artists part of the lgbtq community …

This year’s awards took place on April 2, 2023 in Calgary for the first time ever at Grey Eagle Resort and Casino

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees. See you next year!

Full List Of Nominees and Winners For The 2023 CMAB Awards

Here’s the full list of nominees – the winners of each category are bolded below.

Horizon Female Artist of the Year presented by The Co-operators

Megan Dawson (tie)
Alex Hughes
Martina Dawn
Amy Hef (tie)
Kalsey Kulyk

Catch our conversation with Kalsey

Horizon Group or Duo of the Year presented by MCC Recording Studio

Renegade Station
The Dungarees
Nice Horse
Foxx Worthee

Female Artist of the Year presented by MR MIKES

Tenille Townes
MacKenzie  Porter
Lindsay Ell

Male Artist of the Year presented by Livestar Entertainment

Gord Bamford
Brett Kissel
Corb Lund (tie)
Aaron Goodvin (tie)

Bobby Wills
Dan Davidson

Group of the Year presented by Sirroma Entertainment

The Prairie States
High Valley

Roots Artist of the Year presented by The Shop Live

The Goddamsels
Ryan Langlois
Trevor Panczak
Stirling John
Kyle McKearney
Ryan Lindsay

Fans’ Choice presented by Blu Lantern Wellness

Nice Horse
Renegade Station
Devin Cooper
Kyle McKearney
Brandon Lorenzo
Ashley Ghostkeeper
Chris Brien
Donny Lee
Garrett Gregory
Brettyn Rose
Amy Hef
Travis Dolter
Duane Steele

Album of the Year presented by Old Hippy Wood Products

“Take Me Home” / The Travelling Mabels
“Palace Waiting” / Skinny Dyck
“Good Things” / Devin Cooper
“Chinook Waltz” / Over The Moon
“Seasons” / Ryan Lindsay
“Pinto” / Sykamore

Interactive Artist of the Year

Nice Horse
Michela Sheedy
Hailey Benedict
Ryan Lindsay
Devin Cooper

Devin Cooper Joins Us On Our Podcast

Community Spirit Award presented by Craig Senyk Initiatives

Devin Cooper
Hailey Benedict
Clayton Bellamy
Drew Gregory
Stirling John
Gord Bamford Foundation

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market) presented by Kubota Dealers of Alberta

Country 105 (Calgary)
840 CFCW (Edmonton)
CJWE FM (Calgary)
CFWE FM (Edmonton)
WILD 95.3 (Calgary)

Horizon Male Artist of the Year presented by Porch Swing Entertainment

Donny Lee
Chris Brien
Devin Cooper
Garrett Gregory
Brandon Lorenzo

Horizon Single of the Year presented by Cache Entertainment

“Trampoline” / Nice Horse
“Influence” / Megan Dawson
“You Set The Bar” / Brandon Lorenzo
“Every Now and Then” / Renegade Station
“Rain” / The Dungarees

Horizon Youth Award presented by Phase Management

Mya Kate
Kat Krys

Musician of the Year

Weston Blatz (drums)
Brendan Lyons (drums)
Tara McLeod (guitar)
Mitch Jay (banjo, dobro, guitar, steel guitar, mandolin)
Johnny Gasparic (guitar, mandolin, banjo, lap steel, dobro)

Songwriter(s) of the Year presented by The Track on 2

“Trampoline” / Written by Brandi Sidoryk, Tara McLeod, Krista Wodelet, Katie Rox, Shobha Lee, Rob Wells / Performed by Nice Horse

“Good For You” / Written by Brad Flaysher, Ryan Flaysher, Megan Dawson / Performed by Flaysher

“You Set The Bar” / Written by Brandon Lorenzo, Chard Morrison, Ty Baynton / Performed by Brandon Lorenzo

“Every Now and Then” / Written by Russ Carl, Drew Gregory, Troy Kokol / Performed by Renegade Station

“Level Up” / Written by Hailey Benedict / Performed by Hailey Benedict

Single of the Year presented by MR MIKES

“Right On Time” / Lindsay Ell
“You Ain’t” / Aaron Goodvin
“Pickup” / Mackenzie Porter
“The Last Time” / Tenille Townes
“Drink Along Song” / Gord Bamford

Video of the Year

“Kissed Me Like That” / Megan Dawson
“Underdog” / Devin Cooper
“Leavin’ You” / Garrett Gregory
“Wanted You To” / Hailey Benedict
“Trampoline” / Nice Horse

Visual Creative of the Year presented by DeffClef Music

Pete Nguyen (The Prairie States)
Bronwin Parks & Phil Crozier (Gord Bamford)
Chad Murphy (Devin Cooper)
Chris Cavill, Chris Doi, & Jeff Ojeda (Kyle McKearney)
Michelle Spice (various artists)

Industry Person of the Year presented by H Factor Productions

Tera Lee Flaman / GPS Promotion & GPS Artist Management
Laurie Brown / Porch Swing Entertainment
Johnny Gasparic / MCC Recording Studio
Sarah Scott / Real Country 95.9 FM & Studio B Podcast
Codi McIvor / Video Director, Content Creator & Interview Host

Live Venue or Presenting Series of the Year

The Blue Jay Sessions (Calgary)
Ol’ MacDonald’s Music Festival (Buffalo Lake)
Whiskey Rose Saloon (Calgary)
King Eddy (Calgary)
Ranchman’s Cookhouse and Dance Hall (Calgary)
Stampede City Sessions (Calgary)

Radio Station of the Year (Small/Medium Market) presented by Kubota Dealers of Alberta

Sun Country 99.7  (High River)
CKFM 96.5 (Olds)
104.5 More Country (Strathmore)
Real Country 95.9 (Lloydminster)
New Country 98.1 (Camrose)

Talent Buyer of the Year

Rob Cyrynowski / Livestar Entertainment Canada & Hotels Live Canada
Cheryl Barkhouse / Katavallo Entertainment Group
Dan Clapson / Blue Jay Sessions & The Prairie Emporium
Adam Oppenheim / Stampede Entertainment
Carla Hackman / Sakamoto Agency

Logan Miller - Front Porch Music Founder
Logan Miller

As the founder of Front Porch Music, I believe that music has the ability to connect people. I love country music, and I love the country music industry as a whole. My goal is to help music fans find new artists to fall in love with.

Related Posts

Don’t miss out! Join on Instagram