Jackson Hollow Blossoms with Timeless Bluegrass Sound in Debut Album “Roses”

Canadian Bluegrass band Jackson Hollow

Jackson Hollow’s debut album Roses is a loving tribute to bluegrass traditions, crafted with a tasteful modern polish.

The album showcases the group’s exceptional talent and versatility, as they blend country, folk, and Americana influences into their bluegrass sound. With a mix of ten hand-picked songs from past and present songwriters, the album is a timeless collection of music that reflects a classic sound with modern recording techniques.

RELATED: Our friend Doug Folkins was one of the great songwriters who teamed up with Jackson Hollow. Catch one of our previous interviews with Doug …

The album’s production is top-notch, with CCMA Award-winner Tom McKillip producing six tracks and Jackson Hollow self-producing four.

Tianna Lefebvre, lead vocalist of the group, explains, “We wanted to create a collection of music that is more timeless than commercial. Everything from the choice of songs on ‘Roses’ to the instruments reflects a classic sound we believe in but with the advantages of modern recording.”

Tracklist For Jackson Hollow’s Debut Album Roses

  1. “I’m All The Way Gone”
  2. “Shallow Rivers”
  3. “Roses”
  4. “For The Life Of Me”
  5. “Can’t Stop Now”
  6. “A Heartache In The Works”
  7. “Travelin’ Heart”
  8. “Look Who’s Talking Now”
  9. “Put Yourself In My Place”
  10. “Pour It To Me Straight”

The album opens with “I’m All The Way Gone” a classic bluegrass tune that sets the tone for the rest of the album. “Shallow Rivers” and the title track “Roses” are standout songs, showcasing Lefebvre’s impressive vocals and the group’s tight harmonies.

Mike Sanyshyn, the group’s fiddle and mandolin player and harmony vocalist, adds, “The album is a love letter to the music that grabs us as artists. We feel that through the songs on ‘Roses’ – which range from happy and joyful all the way to the sad and contemplative – we can showcase the bluegrass genre to those waiting to discover it, while respecting the pioneers who started it.”

Jackson Hollow’s journey has been impressive so far, with four BC Country Music Association Awards, a 2021 IBMA World of Bluegrass International Showcase, and successful singles. “Travelin’ Heart” and “Shallow Rivers” both charted in the US Bluegrass Today Charts, and “Shallow Rivers” also hit #6 on the Roots Music Report. “Look Who’s Talking Now,” the group’s third single, also charted on the US Bluegrass Today Charts.

Overall, “Roses” is an excellent debut album from Jackson Hollow that showcases the group’s talent and passion for bluegrass music.

It’s a timeless collection of songs that pays tribute to the genre’s traditions while adding a fresh and modern twist thanks in part to some of Canada’s top country songwriters.

It’s definitely worth a listen for bluegrass fans and those looking for a new spin on classic country and Americana sounds.

Stream The Album Roses

Logan Miller - Front Porch Music Founder
Logan Miller

As the founder of Front Porch Music, I believe that music has the ability to connect people. I love country music, and I love the country music industry as a whole. My goal is to help music fans find new artists to fall in love with.

Related Posts

Don’t miss out! Join on Instagram